How to Win the Fight Against Writer’s Block

photo (24)

Sometimes it can be very challenging to come up with ideas on the spot. Even if you have time to come up with an idea, that can also be difficult. How are you supposed to write something meaningful when you have no clue what to focus your piece on? I can tell you this–having writer’s block is one of the worst feelings in the world. However, I have certain tricks that I use to help myself think up ideas.

For starters, I like to evaluate my week and see if there is any inspiration I can steal from there. I review all that I have done, thinking about what has gone on at school, sports practice, home, and so on and how it has impacted me. Did I learn anything new at water polo practice? Did my friend tell me something I found hilarious at lunch? Did I score really well on a difficult exam? Then I think about how I can use these things in my writing.

The place where you do this thinking can also be the key to unlocking great ideas. I am fond of reflecting upon my week while I walk my dog in the park. The natural essence of the park for some reason helps me clear my mind and simply think. The sun is setting, the leaves are slowly flowing in the wind, and it’s great to have a buddy who you can bounce ideas off and who won’t say anything to interfere with your thoughts.

And if i’m still in a jam and have no idea what to write about, I lay down on the couch and turn on some good tunes. For me, I find the most inspiration in my favorite musicians, which include The Beatles and Taylor Swift (very diverse music choices, I’ve been told.) Listen carefully to the lyrics, as well as each and every instrument. What influenced the composers to create these songs? Does the melody of the songs portray any specific emotion? I found that it also helps if you sing along with each track.

Even though it may seem like writer’s block is completely inevitable and there’s no way out, I promise you that it will fade. And when it does, you will find a grand topic to write about that will be completely and utterly unique and sentimental. Find inspiration in the little things, whether it be the hug your mom gave you before you left the house or the beautiful monarch butterfly you see flying around you while you’re walking through the park. Inspiration is everywhere; you just need to find your path to discover it.

 

Tell us what you think!